qualityandsafety

A debate on quality and safety in healthcare

A year of research in a blog.

From my blog activity, which has been pretty poor, you wouldn’t think I’d have a lot to report; but indeed I have. So much has been going on this past year that I’ve not found the time to write posts. So this post represents my last year in research…and what a year it has been!

It began with securing NHS England funding with colleagues at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust, London South Bank University and Wolfram Research. Here are the team at our final steering group meeting.uhcw session

This 11 week project investigated the application of data mining and mathematical modelling in understanding the relationships between staffing and patient outcomes. As I type, the report is being reviewed by NHS England and will be available in 2016. Here we are reporting on the study at EHI live…

EHI live

This year, I’ve had the privilege of supervising PhD students. Eloise Phillips is working hard to explore the data on hospital admissions for case managed patients and understanding the presence of correlations. Here we are brain storming in the early days…

PHD Supervising

My most recent post published a few days ago introduces my latest project, a collaboration with Coventry City Council, evaluating their programme of HIV testing services. This work received a lot of media attention earlier in the year. Some of it can be found here and here.

I’ve been fortunate enough to gain support for the 2nd Safer Care Conference. We had support from the Royal College of Nursing, the Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists and the College of Paramedics. We had a broad range of key notes from students to professors – all sharing their experience of doing research in healthcare. The day brought together approximately 150 delegates seeking to be inspired to get more involved in research. Here are some of the delegates…

SCC

I’ve also been fortunate to take up the position of Chair of the RCN’s West Midlands Quality Improvement Network. We’ve held several sharing events. The aim of the QIN is to support and facilitate the sharing of learning relating to quality improvement projects in nursing. In this shot, delegates were attending the Autumn sharing event on quality improvement in mental health.

AUTUMN QIN

In this year’s Research Conference at BCU’s Faculty of Health, Education and Life Sciences, we welcomed the Infection Prevention and Control Team from University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust and they ‘delighted’ us with the chocolate Bristol Stool Scale game…

bscCan you tell which is which?

This year also marks my first research publication from my doctoral work, which you can access here, at the British Journal of Community Nursing. In 2016, I also anticipate two further publications relating to my doctoral work.

Over the past year, I’ve been an academic member of the West Midlands Health Informatics Network (WIN) and will remain a member for the forthcoming year too. This has helped me to maintain close ties with the Institute of Digital Healthcare at WMG, University of Warwick. The WIN is a network of academics, clinicians and industry-based informaticists who are passionate by information-enabled health service improvement. For more information on WIN, check out their website.

Here I am with the team at the IDH…

win

The year has been a busy one, but a good one. I’ve maintained some great friendships and made new ones. I’m looking forward to an even busier 2016. I promise to find the time to keep the blog up to date.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

