qualityandsafety

A debate on quality and safety in healthcare

The countdown begins!

In approximately 48 hours I will know whether or not that last 5 years of hard work, blood sweat and tears have culminated in a PhD (or more likely, a PhD subject to minor or major amendments – I’d be over the moon with either). How do I feel? My emotions are behaving tumultuously; acutely panicked one moment and confidently excited at others, with every possible emotion in between. I cannot possibly begin to describe the disappointment and anguish I anticipate should I have to resubmit for a lower degree, or worse, no degree at all. This is not what I worked for and is therefore completely unacceptable. Most annoyingly because I currently perform at post-doctoral level in my Research Fellow post. I construct methodological frameworks for complex social problems, I convert these frameworks into grant applications, my most recent one has been short listed and I am waiting to here whether or not it has been successful. Can you imagine my confusion should I be successful in securing £306,000 of NIHR research money, but not my doctorate? Despite the limitations I openly recognise with my research (and there are many by my medical science standards, although less so by social science standard), the PhD has done its job and has trained a researcher. I hope this is both evident in my viva and counts for something.

Fingers crossed that next time I communicate with you, I have good news! For now, I shall return to the last of my viva prep and being the countdown to 1pm on June 12th 2014.

3 comments on “The countdown begins!

  1. Brian
    June 10, 2014

    Best of luck although I am certain that you are unlikely to need it. Let me know how it goes.

  2. Peter Ward
    June 10, 2014

    I think you should be successful given your work and resulting achievements. Whether you are or not is more likely to down to which side of the bed your examiners get out of tomorrow rather than your performance, so I think you should relax and enjoy showing them what you’ve done. If they don’t like it that’s their problem.

  3. SJ
    June 11, 2014

    Thank you guys, I am honoured that you have such faith in me. I am certainly looking forward to talking about my research.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2014 by in Safety in Community care (PhD), Uncategorized and tagged , , .
