qualityandsafety

A debate on quality and safety in healthcare

The last push to the end!

Yesterday marked 6 weeks until the end of my registration at the University of Warwick; or in other words, the deadline to submit my doctoral thesis. After 4.5 years, this cannot come soon enough, yet frustratingly, it will be here far too soon. Needless to say I am a wreck; not a staying up all night-pulling my hair out-no time to wash, coffee guzzling wreck. But a wreck nonetheless!

I currently have 47,000 in 7 chapters constructured, reviewed, rewritten, reviewed some more and rewritten lots more and formatted to a standard that I might just have to accept as submitable. Chapters 8 and 9 are nearly complete but not quite there.

I thought I was going to need a word count extension but I have 23,000 words to play with in the discussion and conclusion. It appears my pure science training has come in handy; don’t write with 20 words, what you can convey in 10 🙂 Thanks Birmingham Medical School!

As my time a Warwick draws to a close, I look back in fondness and look forward with a lot of friends and contacts. Some of whom have been instrumental in the reviewing of my thesis (don’t worry, they shall all be ackowledged in the external text of the thesis ackowledgement page). And it is as this time draws close that I mostly think of my late friend Jane, who sadly lost her battle to cancer in 2011. She would be very proud!

Besides the thesis and its looming deadline, I’ve got a lot of other things going on. But perhaps now is not the time to spend time thinking about them. I will however, give a full update in April. Watch this space…

 

 

 

One comment on “The last push to the end!

  1. Emma
    February 19, 2014

    Keep on pushing!!!!! You can do it 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2014 by in Safety in Community care (PhD), Uncategorized and tagged , , .
